History of Ralph Stover State Park
Early inhabitants of the area, the Lenni Lenape, named the creek “To-Hick-Hanne” meaning “Deer-Bone-Creek,” leading to the modern name Tohickon Creek.
Early industry depended on Tohickon Creek. Ralph Stover State Park marks the site of a late 18th century water-powered grist mill. The park takes its name from Ralph Stover who owned and operated the mill. Remnants of the mill and the millrace, which diverted the water from above the dam to power the mill, are still visible.
During 1931, the Stover heirs gave this property to the commonwealth for use as a state park. Recreational facilities were first opened during 1935 after development by the federal Works Progress Administration.
The property known as the High Rocks was added through the donation of the late James A. Michener, a noted author. This area is popular for its spectacular views and geological features. It is used extensively as a rock-climbing site. The 150-foot sheer rock face offers a unique challenge to the experienced climber.